Jürgen Klopp’s squad are to start pre-season training at Melwood next Wednesday, but those who were on international duty at the end of the season will be given extra time off, according to the Liverpool Echo’s James Pearce.

We may have to wait to see Mohamed Salah training at Melwood because the Egyptian was away on international duty for several weeks at the end of the season. The same applies to Philippe Coutinho, Gini Wijnaldum, Adam Lallana, Dejan Lovren, Ragnar Klavan, Simon Mignolet, Marko Grujic, Ovie Ejaria, Ben Woodburn, Harry Wilson, Sheyi Ojo, Dominic Solanke and Divock Origi.

Emre Can is likely to be the last player that returns to pre-season training and will join the Reds when they’re on tour later in July. He is still taking part in the Confederations Cup with Germany, who will play Chile in the final on Sunday.

Danny Ings has stepped up his recovery from a second successive knee ligament injury and is likely to return to full team training at some stage during pre-season but he won’t be rushed back.

It is unclear whether Danny Ward or Lazar Markovic will be at Melwood on Wednesday to begin pre-season after their loan spells at Huddersfield Town and Hull City, respectively.

It will be interesting to see which young players will be involved with the first team over the course of pre-season. Neither of Ben Woodburn or Harry Wilson played for Wales earlier this month despite being part of the squad, which may mean they choose to start their pre-season preparations on Wednesday too.

17-year-old striker Rhian Brewster was part of the first-team squad for Liverpool’s post-season friendly match against Sydney and Jürgen Klopp has mentioned on several occasions that the club have been very impressed with his progress. It may be that he is more involved with the first team during pre-season.

We expect the following players to be at Melwood to begin pre-season training on Wednesday:

Loris Karius, Nathaniel Clyne, Connor Randall, Jon Flanagan, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Joel Matip, Joe Gomez, James Milner, Alberto Moreno, Lucas Leiva, Kevin Stewart, Jordan Henderson, Sadio Mane, Ryan Kent, Daniel Sturridge, Roberto Firmino.